Canada 2010 Recreational Fishing Awards

posted in: freshwater fishing | 0

On June 14, 2010, The Honourable Randy Kamp, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, presented the 2010 Recreational Fisheries Awards during a ceremony today at the Canadian Museum of Civilization in Gatineau, QC. Five individuals received the prestigious award.

“This year’s recipients have all made important contributions to Canada’s world-renowned recreational fisheries,” said Kamp, who presented the awards on behalf of the Honourable Gail Shea, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans. “Our government recognizes that their hard work and commitment to building sustainable fisheries will ensure that Canadians can continue to enjoy this natural resource for years to come.”

The 2010 recipients are:

Keith Piercey, Newfoundland and Labrador

J. Robert Chiasson, New Brunswick

John Kendell,Ontario

Dave Clough, British Columbia

Gerald Kristianson, British Columbia

Created in 1989, the National Recreational Fisheries Awards annually recognize Canadians for outstanding efforts to improve or protect the recreational fishery. This work has the added value of bringing about better fishing and wise development of related industries, including tourism.

source: Canada Minister of Fisheries and Oceans