2014 Indiana Fish of the Year

posted in: regional | 0

In 2014, Indiana DNR’s Fish of the Year contest received 78 entries which resulted in 33 winners for 31 species. There were ties in two categories; bluegill and crappie.

Annual winners are selected on the length of fish they catch and submit to the DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife. Fish of the Year winners receive a certificate and patch from the DNR.

Winning entry lengths ranged from an 8.5-inch green sunfish caught by Gregory Zentz at Pit 26 in Greene-Sullivan State Forest to a 52.5-inch flathead catfish caught by Eric Spicer from the White River in Jackson County.

There were two multiple winners in 2014 – Luke Kosnik (brown trout and walleye) and Brian Waldman (buffalo and hybrid striped bass). Several anglers have won categories more than once. Robert Ecenbarger of Fort Wayne turned in the top cisco catch for the fourth straight year. Tristan Weaver (36.3 inch steelhead trout) and Jeff Armstrong (20 inch common carp) won the same categories in 2013. David Ben Mullen, who claimed honors in 2014 for the longest blue catfish at 50 inches, has won four times in the past five years.

Lake Michigan was the biggest producer of trophy-class fish with four species; brown trout, walleye, king salmon, and smallmouth bass.

For a complete list of 2014 Fish of the Year winners, visit fishing.IN.gov/3577.htm.

source: Indiana DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife